Easy DIY Skirt from Toddler Dress

This blog introduces my very talented friend Philippa and her ‘DIY Skirt from a Toddler Dress’ tutorial. The skirt fits a 2 and half year old.

baby dress, patterned
Baby dress

Take one small beloved dress. First cut away the top of the dress allowing enough fabric to turn in, I decided I wanted to elasticate the waist slightly so allowed enough fabric to create a channel to run the elastic through.

childrens' clothes upcycle
Cut the top from the dress skirt

Once pressed, stitch the elastic channel, I wanted another line of elastic at the bottom of the waist band. As the dress/skirt was made up of several layers of fabric I just used running stitch to create the second elastic channel. This line of stitching is hidden on the outside by the navy ribbon.

Elasticated waistband for dress
Elasticated waistband for dress

I hand stitched this skirt, A, because I wanted the alteration to be invisible from the outside and B, because I wanted to do it whilst sitting on the sofa with my kids! But you could also use your machine if you wanted to. Once happy with the elastic length stitch the elastic down, fold over the last of the fabric and finish off.

Hand stitched waistband edges
Hand stitched waistband edges

This dress/skirt was fastened at the side with buttons. The skirt still uses these but there was a spare one on the top. So I stitched it into the washing instructions label in the skirt incase any of the others ever comes off!

Easy DIY Toddler Skirt, handmade
The Finished Skirt

And the skirt is done…and finally modelled by the hippest toddler in town.

diy toddler skirt
A happy toddler models her new outfit

Leave a comment